Rico’s Fascinating Eyes

When deciding what to paint, sometimes I have too many ideas at once and get overwhelmed, so I try to keep an ongoing list of the ideas.  However, sometimes the list just doesn’t inspire me, so instead I peruse the internet, read artsy blogs, or go through some of my books.  On one such uninspired day, while looking at Facebook, I saw a picture of my friend’s cat, Rico, whose eyes are captivating and really caught my attention.  She had posted a variety of pictures of him so I studied each one to gather details.

 

Rico

Rico

This is one of those rare paintings that came together quickly, and I was quite happy with the results.  That almost never happens, and sometimes I struggle for days at a time and still not get it right.  Rico’s mom, Joan, liked the painting and she said Rico did too because he sniffed at it.  How about that – a sniff of approval 😺

Just curious – How do you get inspired and how do you keep your ideas straight?  TGIF, and have a great weekend!

28 thoughts on “Rico’s Fascinating Eyes

  1. What a handsome Rico, Carol! ❀ He was right to put a stamp of approval and happiness! πŸ™‚ Like you, I also have an on going list in a small notebook and yes sometimes it does not inspire too. Browsing the web is always a good choice for me. πŸ™‚

  2. He does have wonderful eyes!
    I have too many ideas, too, so I tend to jump from one to another. Big projects are hard for me to complete. I’ve given up trying to be organized. (K)

  3. I really like this painting, the eyes are very alive. Good work indeed ! I get my inspirations from life around me : people, nature, animals, etc. .. or to symbolic paintings from my subconscious. Me too have many ideas, some of them good, some others not so good. I do not take inspirations from other peoples works, even I admire them. My goal is to find my own views.

  4. WOW!! This is FANTASTIC Carol!! WHOOT!! You captured Rico purr-fectly!! And a sniff of approval from the cat, how about that?! πŸ˜ƒπŸ’•πŸŽ¨πŸŒŸ

  5. This is a fantastic painting Carol! You’re so talented ^_^
    I’d say we’re in the same boat when it comes to seeking inspiration…lists and endless browsing (pinterest is top of the list lol).

  6. Carol…..what a fantastic painting….you have the attitude, stance of a cat but those eyes are outstanding! Really love this, you knocked it out of the park with this one. Isn’t it wonderful when it magically comes together?

  7. What a cute little Rico kitty!!! I showed my husband your painting and now he wants me to paint our cats – except I’m not good enough to pull that off. πŸ™‚ But your kitty looks fantastic!

  8. Thanks, Carol! Glad you and hubby liked Rico. I watched some videos on YouTube for inspiration first and then attempted the painting. Like I said in the post, it came out right the first time, which rarely happens for me. Give it a try – you never know until you do πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

