Draw A Bird Day, August 2016

Happy Draw A Bird Day, August 2016 Edition!  While on a crafty weekend at Hickory Road Inn we spotted a pileated woodpecker in the woods, and after observing this fascinating bird I knew I had to paint him.

The Pileated Woodpecker is native to North America and is one of the largest forest birds on the continent, growing on average to 18 inches long. They feed at dead trees and fallen logs looking for their favorite insect, big carpenter ants, and leave unique rectangular holes in the wood, which then become shelter to swifts, owls, ducks, bats, and pine martens.

Pileated Woodpecker

Pileated Woodpecker watercolor with Derwent Inktense underpainting

Pileated Woodpeckers make an unmistakable percussive sound while rat-a-tat-tatting on the dead trees at speeds reaching 13 to 15 miles per hour. In an average day he does this around 12,000 times and doesn’t seem to be the least bit bothered by it. This is because, after millions of years of this type of behavior, they’ve evolved some specialized headgear to prevent injuries to their heads, brains, and eyes.  The most famous Pileated Woodpecker was named Woody – you might have seen his cartoon! 🙂

 

23 thoughts on “Draw A Bird Day, August 2016

  1. I love those Pileated’s and you sketch is beautiful. We have them in our woods and when they tap on a tree it sounds like a drum!

  2. Thanks, Teri! Yes, they are quite noisy but I love that sound – from afar. I am sure I wouldn’t like it if they were drumming on my house! 😉

  3. I remember this one, it’s lovely Carol! Thanks for the link. My comments keep winding up in people’s WP spam folders. I figured it’s God’s way of letting me know I need a break lol. I hope you see this one!

  4. Hi Laura: I just checked my spam folder and had one from you and one from Charlie. Guess I need to make a habit of checking it once a week or so. Enjoy your well-deserved break! I hope you are relaxing and taking time to do what you love 🙂

Leave a Reply

