OWH Memorial Day Weekend Bloghop

Beginning of OWH Bloghop 2013

Beginning of OWH Bloghop 2013

Welcome to my blog! Because I recently started my blog, this is the first time I have been in an OWH Bloghop and am thrilled to participate – so thrilled that I made 2 cards.  I chose sketch #102 first to create this distressed Thank You card for a Hero.  

OWH Sketch 102

OWH Sketch 102

Thank You card - Sketch 102

Thank You Card, Sketch 102, Core’dinations Paper

Supplies: I used Core’dinations Dark cardstock in red and the Cuttlebug Stars embossing folder. The large star was cut with my Cricut George cartridge and the sentiment is from Stampin Up’s Service and Sacrifice set. The dark blue starred paper and crackle paper underneath are from Hot Off the Press by Paper Pizazz. I finished up by distressing the star with brown ink, adding a little faux stitching with a brown Sharpie, and embellishing with 3 wood veneer stars by Studio Calico. 

I selected sketch #142 for the second Thank You card good for everyday use.  

OWH Sketch 142

OWH Sketch 142

Thank You Card, Patterned Paper

Thank You Card, Sketch 142, Patterned Paper

Supplies: I used a Nutmeg My Mind’s Eye Indie Chic 6×6 paper pad for the coordinating papers and a Cricut Elegant Edges cartridge to make the sentiment shape.

Happy Memorial Day.  Thanks for stopping by!

Carol

122 thoughts on “OWH Memorial Day Weekend Bloghop

  1. I’m so happy to have found your blog on today’s hop. I particularly like the way you cut the banners on the second card so the yellow is matted only on the sides. I’ve also got to try that coredinations card stock some time. Looks awesome!

  2. Your cards are so very nice. Welcome to the Blog Hop! I see you have taken Online Card Classes. I have too! So much fun to be had online. Happy Holiday, Carol.

  3. You picked two of my favorite sketches and did a great job with both! Love the distressing on the embossing of the first one!

  4. Your cards are so pretty. I like the distressed look of the first card. And the banners just make that second card. Welcome to blogging. April

  5. I am in love with both of your cards! The first one is one I will have to re-create for sure! And I also love anything with banners on it.
    Beth F. OWH #114

  6. Difficult to choose just one sketch, I know ! the details on the cards you made are terrific (marker stitching and distressing on the first, yellow matting on the second). Thanks for the inspiration and making cards for our heroes.

  7. The distress card is stunning. I like the brown with the red, white and blue colors. I like the bright colors of the second card.

  8. I really like the first card with the starts on the paper. Your repetition of that shape as the major focal point is great! I liked the color matching of the large star to the stars on the paper.

    And the 2nd card! I am going to have to copy the matting of the paper strips! I’d never thought of that before. A simply elegant card!

  9. Two wonderful cards, Carol, I love what you did with the stars background, really makes the card pop. Love the colors on the second card and your layout is perfect! Two fabulous cards! Have a blessed weekend! TFS

  10. Love the way you distressed your star background and the muted shades of red and blue with the soft ivory. Nice work on both of these. I’m glad you got to take part in this year’s hop. Thanks for supporting OWH!

  11. Great cards – love the distressing on the first card (gotta get me some of that core’dinations cardstock), and the yellow framing on the banner card really makes the colors pop!

  12. I like your cards based on the sketches that I like very much. Especially with the Core’dinations paper, you created very nice background. Thanks for inspiring and supporting OWH.

  13. I really like the distressed background of the first card. The paper on the 2nd card is also very pretty – makes me want to go work on some cards!

  14. Both cards are great. The use of Coordination for the embossed background is perfect.

  15. I love both of your cards–perfect takes on the sketches–I really am loving that embossed background of stars!! Thanks for participating in the OWH blog hop!

  16. Both of your cards are beautiful! I haven’t done either one of these sketches yet so these are terrific inspiration. I love how you distressed the stars and the papers you chose for the banners. Thank you for supporting OWH and have a great weekend!

  17. I love your distressed dry embossed background with the blue stripes–very patriotic looking! I love the blue and yellows in your pennant card also! Happy Memorial Day Weekend! 🙂 Marie (OWH #119)

  18. Both your cards are great but I am a sucker for red, white and blue so that has to be my fav. I love how you repeated the star theme even down to the little brads. The sentiment is one that I am going to use for my own cards so thanks for sharing!

  19. I haven’t made time yet to play around with Core’dinations cardstock, but I love what you’ve done with it on your first card! The distressed look is terrific. Nice job coordinating your designer papers on the banner card, too.

  20. both are grea cards, I like how you distressed the embossed cardstock on the first card
    thanks for sharing

  21. I love the background stars and need to get some white-core paper to give that a try. Thanks for the inspiration!

  22. Congrats on starting your bologna and joining in the hop! Your cards are very nice with great color combinations. Very nice!

  23. Love the distressing on embosses stars and star die cut in the first. The second card uses one of my favorite sketches. Great combination of patterns and color in the paper. Thanks for blogging in the hop!

  24. there’s absolutely no way I could pick a fave of these two because they are both fantastic! I love those distressed stars, and the banners on the other card really are wonderful! 🙂

  25. Beautiful cards! I love the embossing and distressing on the patriotic card, and the bit of yellow on the edges of your banner card elements is perfect!

  26. Good job on your first blog hop page!!! I really like the first card with all the texturing! Second card is nice too, but I really liked the way my eyes keep going to the patriotic first one! Thank you for supporting OWH!

  27. Great cards…love your intrepretation of the two sketches! Great use of papers on the second cards…and the texture on your first! tfs!!!

  28. Great cards Carol! I love them both, especially the bright and cheery colors of the second one and of course the patriotic colors of the first one are perfect. Keep on blogging!

  29. Carol, welcome to the world of blogging. Your cards are delightful, and I know our heroes will love them!

  30. Great job on both sketches. I like how you matted the bannes on the second card.

  31. Thank you for sharing these wonderful cards! Love the colors you chose, the distressed stars and how you continued the star theme with the sentiment frame and the wooden star embellishments. The yellow and blue together on your 2nd card is such a cheery color combo and these papers go so well together. Thank you for your support of our heroes and OWH.

  32. Great cards . I love coredinations and you did a wonderful job embossing it. I love your banners on the second one. Lovely job. Thanks for joining in on the hop.

  33. Great take on both sketches. Love the papers that you used in the second card. Your Any Hero card gives me some ideas, so thanks.

  34. Fantastic cards- both of them made me smile! And welcome to the world of blogging- so much fun! I love your embossing on the first one- I love the look of Coordinations cardstock!

  35. Carol, Congrats on your new blog, it looks great. I think the distressed star background is perfect, along with the 3 tiny veneer stars to compliment your focal star, with the blue stripes. I love red white and blue cards! The blue and yellow color combination on your Indie card is very eye-catching and cheerful. I love both of your wonderful cards. Thanks for the inspiration and being part of the OWH Memorial Day Blog Hop!

  36. Great cards! I especially like the second one. Great design and love the paper/color choices!

  37. I love both of your cards! The embossed backgrounds really add so much to the cards. I especially like the distressed stars!!

  38. Both cards are so nice, the distressed embossing on the first card is an eye catcher. The colors used on the second card make it look so fresh, like spring. Thank you for sharing your incredible talent and supporting OWH

  39. You did a super job with both of your cards! Thanks for your support of OWH!
    Happy Memorial Day weekend,
    R/

  40. Love the distressed card! Great choice of a sketch for it. The second card is absolutely gorgeous and would make any family member happy to receive it! Welcome to the blog hop and thanks for your support of OWH.

  41. Both cards are great–love the sketch and the papers you used in the second one but I do adore those mini stars you used in the first one! Super cute!

  42. Two great cards! I love the embossed star background on your first card. Nicely topped with the striped border and big star. I really like the three little stars on the upper corner, too. The papers on the second card are really pretty. Love that the banners are layered. Thank you for sharing your cards with us! ~ Marilyn

  43. They are both fantastic and so different from one another. Love that you chose to distress the background on the first card. It gives it such a vintage feel. And then you go and use my favorite color combo of yellow and blue to create a crisp, classy card. Perfect choices for both!! Thanks for your participation in the OWH Blog Hop!

  44. Beautifully done! So glad that I don’t have to choose a favorite. Both cards are so different, and so wonderfully created. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  45. Can’t remember if I replied here or not, or if I was struggling because I do not use my wordpress comments often or not and so don’t remember my password.

    Thanks for the inspiration! love the second crd best.

  46. Fabulous cards. I love the star embossing and the papers are gorgeous. Love the sentiments too. Nicely done. Thank you for sharing.

  47. Congrats on ur first team up with OWH! You made some fantastic cards. I LOVE the distressing on the core’dinations paper!

  48. thanks for sharing your great cards. my favorite is the patriotic red white and blue one!

  49. Both of your cards are very pretty! Love the distressed coredinations paper with the stars…my favorite cardstock with one of my favorite folders!

  50. Beautiful cards! I especially like the way the second card uses small strips of DSP – I will have to raid the scrap pile to try this out.

  51. Great cards. I like the patriotic look of the first one. The distressed look looks really good. The regal look of the second one is a nice card too. I like the color scheme and patterns you used for the banners.

  52. Both cards are great but I really like the first one. The use of the sanded Core’dinations embossed paper adds just the right touch

  53. Wonderful! I love all the stars on the first card and also the weathered look of the elements! The second card is fabulous because of all the lovely yellow matting you used (my favorite color!) Thanks so much for sharing and for supporting OWH!

  54. Both of your cards are wonderful! Congratulations on your first hop – great job! Thank you for supporting OWH! We appreciate your involvement. ~Dotti H., OWH Board member

Leave a Reply

