Online Card Classes, Watercolor for Card Makers: Exploring Mediums

Recently I enrolled in the latest OCC which explored nontraditional ways to use watercolor mediums. I rarely have time to do the projects and participate in the classes while they are “live,” but this class was shorter and came at a time when my workload was lighter, so I lucked out.

Watercolor, heat embossing and Distress markers

Watercolor, heat embossing and Distress markers

The first card was made by stamping, masking, and heat embossing the flowers and sentiment in gold onto watercolor paper.   The flowers were colored with Distress markers and then softened with water.  The layering paper was plain white, coated with Versamark, and heat embossed as well.

No line watercoloring, blue bird

No-line watercolor, blue bird

The second technique was to use a stamp with Distress inks, and once stamped on the watercolor paper, water was brushed over the image to fill it in.  This makes a “no-line” image as opposed to stamping it with a black outline and then coloring it in.

No-line watercoloring, red bird

No-line watercolor, red bird

I also watercolored the bird with red, but didn’t quite think my color choices all the way through beforehand.  It ended up looking Christmasy, which was not my intention, but I was happy with the red bird anyhow.

Watercolor, free-hand, Derwent Inktense pencils

Watercolor, free-hand, Derwent Inktense pencils

Lastly, I drew this flower free-hand with Derwent Inktense pencils and softened with water and a few colorful splatters.  I really enjoyed this delicate watercolor effect and have been playing with it all weekend.  I wish I had discovered these pencils years ago because they are so much fun!  I was going through sparkle withdrawal so decided to add a few pretty sequins to set off the flower.

Happy Monday and I wish you a peaceful, productive week.  Get out and enjoy some of this fall-like weather!

 

5 thoughts on “Online Card Classes, Watercolor for Card Makers: Exploring Mediums

  1. They are so pretty…I always enjoy seeing your creativity….beware, I may just show up on your doorstep for some craft time! LOL

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.