Draw-A-Bird Day, August 2017

Most of these birds were painted during World Watercolor Month in July, but since I have not yet showcased them on my blog, today seemed like the perfect day.

I took an online class teaching how to paint birds in a loose manner with lots of water.  It was great fun!

Loose and splashy bird

Loose and Splashy Carolina Wren

Blue Titmouse

Blue Titmouse

Mockingbird

It is quite satisfying to work with lots of water and paint to create the splashy effects, which seem to add a layer of excitement to the painting.

Here is a not-so-splashy, calm seagull.

Seagull

Seagull

Thanks for stopping by!

25 thoughts on “Draw-A-Bird Day, August 2017

  1. Wow Carol!! Love ALL your birds!! 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 Love the splashy approach – did you take a local class or one online? Do you have a favorite? I really like the Titmouse and the Seagull. I think they would make wonderful cards! 💙

  2. Thanks for sharing.

    Carolina Wrens are one of my favorite birds. We watched a pair raise 3 chicks in our hanging basket this year. All 3 chicks flew the nest but unfortunately I think the babies were actually baby cow birds who lay eggs in other birds nest.

    It was still fun to watch. Carolina Wrens are awesome bug catchers.

    Ronda

  3. Thanks for sharing your story, Ronda. Cowbirds can be such bullies! However, it is always exciting to see all the new hatchlings each spring.

  4. Thanks, Holly! I bet I could learn a lot from a teacher like you. Now I kind of wish that I had taken art in school, but I guess better late than never 🎨

  5. Thanks, Jill! It was an online class at arttutor.com. I think the wren is my fav because I used the most water on it. I am getting ready to go through all my past projects and “Doodlewashes” and fine those suitable for card fronts. I have quite a stack by now! Happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

