World Watercolor Month 2017 – Wrap Up, Week 2

This week of World Watercolor Month has been all about flowers for me.  I’ve been practicing lessons from Sandy Allnock’s art-classes.com Fresh Florals, and although some lessons were a little challenging, I stuck with them until I got the desired results.

Forsythia

Forsythia

First, I used the cherry blossom brush strokes from the last class to create the above forsythia branch.

Petal Practice

Petal Practice

After practicing a few new brush stroke petals, I created some daisies.  The white daisy petals are created by painting the background around the petals, otherwise known as negative painting.

I was less than excited with my first attempt.

Practice Daisies

Practice Daisies

I decided to add a few more petals to each flower for a more realistic, less graphic look.

More Daisies

More Daisies

Last for the week were snapdragons, which were my favorites to paint so far because of their bright colors.

Practice Snapdragons

Practice Snapdragons

 

Snapdragons

Snapdragons

As I am writing this post, it dawned on me that this technique could be modified to create hyacinth flowers as well.  Hmm…..

World Watercolor Month, founded by our friend Charlie over at Doodlewash.com, has a few purposes, one of which is to raise money and awareness for The Dreaming Zebra Foundation.  The Dreaming Zebra Foundation is a nonprofit organization encouraging children to embrace their individuality, to express themselves creatively, and follow their artistic dreams.  They provide art and music supplies to underprivileged children throughout the world.

World Watercolor Month is also an opportunity for watercolorists around the world to connect and play along by painting a little something each day – 31 watercolors in 31 days.  So far I have been able to keep up and have been posting daily on Instagram but will make weekly updates here on my blog.  I’m off to make my donation to the Dreaming Zebra Foundation and then to start today’s painting.  Hope you have a happy weekend!

15 thoughts on “World Watercolor Month 2017 – Wrap Up, Week 2

  1. Thanks, Kerfe. It is very busy trying to keep up with all the World Watercolor Month challenges and following the work of others throughout July, so I figured a weekly blog update is manageable (for me AND my readers). Actually, I am shocked that I’ve made it this many days in a row of painting something worth sharing, but it’s been fun 🎨

  2. It’s satisfying to be able to work everyday. And doing the work is more important than posting it. Also looking at all the week’s work together gives you a good perspective on what you’ve done.

Leave a Reply

