Beach Painting = Learning Curves

Our family recently visited a favorite beach for a week. With watercolor gear in tow, I had grand plans of finding multitudes of inspiration and painting en plein air.

Painting at the Beach

Painting a Shell at the Beach

As you can see, I had a great setup on the porch of the beach house with plenty of shade – and wind – which is not so conducive to watercolor painting.  It’s difficult to work wet-in-wet when the wet dries in under a minute from the lovely beach breeze!  I am in no way complaining about beach breezes, though, because they make the beach habitable on a hot day.  The second issue was that my glasses, which darken from the sun, got so dark that it was difficult to distinguish the appropriate colors.  I managed to create a few things outside, but mostly I drew outside and painted inside when time permitted.

More Shells

More Shells

These are the only true en plein air watercolors from this trip, but many more paintings were done in a Moleskine travel sketchbook. Maybe these will be shared at a later date; I really want to use up that sketchbook and get on with making my own with paper that I enjoy using.  Now to find those book-making instructions from Jill . . .  Have a great week!

 

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “Beach Painting = Learning Curves

  1. Wow, Carol! What a lovely view!! 💙💚💙 It looks so relaxing! 😊 I love your shell paintings and the people on the beach! I always think I will paint more on vacation too and I end up finding other things to do… 😉⛱ I hope you will post your other paintings you did! I’d love to see them. 👍 Let me know if you have troubles finding my instructions on making your own journal and I will find it for you. I need to add a search button to my blog…🎨

  2. Thanks, Jill, for all your comments and encouragement. That beach is such a beautiful place and I find myself engrossed in the waves, birds, and other goings-on that time tends to fly there. I guess that is called relaxing, huh 😉

  3. Carol – great work and a great spot! The most I do at the beach is a couple of quick sketches in a notebook. I can’t imagine painting with the wind and sand flying everywhere. I usually take lots of photos and work from them when I get home. Hope you had a great trip!

  4. Hi Carol! I love seeing your paintings! They’re so nostalgic and candid 🙂 The beach sounds so lovely right now! I’ll have to try sketching outside sometime!

  5. Thanks, Carolina! Seems like so long ago but in reality it was only a month ago. I can’t believe the 4th of July is already next week! Have a great day 💖

  6. Hopefully you did a lot of relaxing by the beach. When my feet first touch the sand, the relaxing begins. Seriously, I make a mental note of that feeling each visit and revisit it in my mind often 🌊🌴☀️

Leave a Reply

