Ladybug, #WorldWatercolorGroup

Creating this was almost a little too creepy crawly for my liking, but I did enjoy painting the vibrant wing covers (elytra) of this ladybug. I generally have no issues catching a “pretty” ladybug and admiring its color and spots, and I don’t mind a butterfly or lightning bug either, but that is about as far as I go with flying or crawling pests. I don’t know why this is because they all have alien faces with twitching antennae and too many scraggly legs, even the “pretty” bugs.

Ladybug

Ladybug

(The background is computer enhanced a little to help the actual wings show up better.) Now that I’ve painted a bee and a ladybug this week, I think that will be enough insects for a while.  Thank goodness April has a lot more to offer.  Have a great weekend!

 

6 thoughts on “Ladybug, #WorldWatercolorGroup

  1. I’ve never looked at a lady bug up close before and it does look kind of creepy. Glad they are harmless and aren’t they some kind of sign of good luck?

Leave a Reply

