Butterfly, #WorldWatercolorGroup

Happy April!  Life has been busy lately.  Two weeks ago I spent a long weekend at a crafty retreat and concentrated on replenishing my handmade cards.  I made quite a few and will post some of them soon.  Then, a few days ago I returned from a trip to Nashville, Tennessee with my sister.  Unfortunately it was a working trip for her, but in her free time I took her to all our favorite music spots.  I think she had fun and even came home with a new pair of boots!

I took some art supplies with me thinking that I would come home with pages and pages of things I had created, but there were just too many distractions.  We stayed at the Gaylord Opryland Hotel, which I swear should have its own zip code.  Even just walking from our room to the parking lot took almost ten minutes, and I had not accounted for how much time I spent walking and exploring the hotel.  I sketched a couple of pictures and took lots of photos that I want to paint into my sketchbook and hope to get to that this week.

Now I am happy to get back into my routine and have fun with a new month’s worth of watercolor prompts.  Thanks for the list, Charlie!

Tree Nymph Butterfly

Tree Nymph Butterfly

This butterfly is called a Tree Nymph, or a rice paper butterfly, and appears to have slightly iridescent shimmers in the white of its wings.  I did a wet-in-wet wash on the wings to get the pale colors and then some negative painting around the segments of the wings.  Such a delicate little creature!  Have a great weekend!

15 thoughts on “Butterfly, #WorldWatercolorGroup

  1. Beautiful butterfly, Carol!! 🦋 I find that butterflies can be quite challenging to paint! Yours turned out so wonderful and I like how you did your background to make the butterfly stand out. 🎨👍

  2. Thanks Holly. I so struggle with backgrounds and make them more than they need to be. I am working on minimalism, but it is difficult for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

