Sorry!

This month’s World Watercolor Group prompts, presented by our beloved Charlie at Doodlewash, involves toys and entertaining things from childhood, so it should be a lot of fun.  Today’s prompt is board games, and coming from a family of 5 children we played a lot of board games.  When Santa’s gift tag read “To: All,” we knew that gift was going to contain a fun surprise.

Our repertoire included card games, Yahtzee, Hangman, and Trouble with its Pop-O-Matic dice roller, but my favorite was, and still is, Sorry!  I think it was because I was never athletic or quick on my feet, but I felt like there was a level playing field among everyone on this game board.  I was never very good at strategic games either; my Battleships were sunk at record speed and, in my mind, Stratego looked too boring to learn, but I had Sorry! strategy down pat.  We could chase each other around and do fancy moves like changing places, splitting moves between two pieces, going backward 4 squares to get closer to Home, sliding an opponent out of play, or Sorrying each other back to Start.  There was not a ton of strategy involved but a lot of fun to be had, and in my mind that was the name of the game.

Sorry!

Sorry!

I hope your New Year has started off well, and here’s to a terrific 2017 for all of us!

13 thoughts on “Sorry!

  1. Thanks for that great memory! Sorry! was one of my favorites as well. Monopoly always upset me because I seldom won. When we weren’t doing board games we were working jigsaw puzzles. I keep thinking I’m going to buy another someday soon.

  2. Unfortunately I am not familiar with “Sorry”. I loved reading your post, thank you for sharing it, and your wishes…Happy New Year Carol…

  3. Your post reminds me of the “Mama’s Family” episode where they played a rather mean game of “Sorry”! Do you remember that episode??

Leave a Reply

