Beets, #WorldWatercolorGroup

Both the beet greens and roots are edible, and one of my favorite side dishes is red and orange beetroot roasted with other root vegetables like parsnips and carrots.  I’ve never tried beet greens, but because I enjoy most other greens, I feel like they are probably quite delicious.  As a matter of fact, I’ve even seen a video in which someone used beet juice for watercolor painting!

 

Beets

Beets

I really enjoyed painting this looser watercolor and like how the granulating Daniel Smith Primatek colors of Hematite and Piemontite Genuine added terrific texture to the beetroots.  I bought a sample pack of 6 Primatek colors in 5 ml tubes, which is a great way to try them out.  The Primatek paints contain natural minerals and semi-precious gemstones, giving them amazing granulating and reflective properties.  So pretty!

6 thoughts on “Beets, #WorldWatercolorGroup

  1. The beet tops are very healthy; I too add them to salads. Carol, your painting reminds me when I processed and pickled the beets from my garden this year. They are delicious sliced raw and dipped into a favorite dip for an appetizer. Painting well done.

Leave a Reply

