Tootsie Pop #WorldWatercolorGroup

Remember the commercial?  How many licks does it take to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop?  Mr. Owl proved that it was 3, but since that 1969 commercial hundreds of official and unofficial studies have been done by university groups and neighborhood children.  Evidently the number spans from 3 licks to 3,481 licks, but according to the official studies there are many variables.  Frankly, I think the number was way overanalyzed and will stick with Mr. Owl’s conclusion.

Tootsie Pops

Tootsie Pops

Today’s prompt of sugar candy led me to paint my three favorite flavors of Tootsie Pops from when I was a youngster.  Chocolate was the very first flavor introduced in 1931 and it was my favorite.  Cherry and Orange ran a close second.  I loathed grape for some reason, but luckily my sister loved it and disliked the orange, so we made a lot of trades over the years.  What was your favorite flavor?

10 thoughts on “Tootsie Pop #WorldWatercolorGroup

  1. Great post Carol! 😊👍 Brings back great childhood memories! ❤️🍭 I don’t remember having a favorite flavor. I think I liked them all! I loved candy as a kid. 😄

  2. Fun story, brings back memories of the sweets we used to have as kids. Don’t remember their names though. Tootsie-pops I don’t know, but they look wonderful the way you paint them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

