Eggs, #WorldWatercolorGroup

The WWG prompt of the day is eggs, and here are some of my favorites – deviled eggs.  I love eggs in almost any form, but nothing says summer picnic like a good deviled egg.


To me, the most difficult part of making deviled eggs is peeling the shells off, and I seem to have the  best luck if the eggs are not ultra fresh. Do you know of a foolproof method? Also, sorry the lighting is so bad; I painted and photographed these while on a plane ✈️ 

TGIF, and I hope you have a terrific weekend! 

20 thoughts on “Eggs, #WorldWatercolorGroup

  1. Your deviled eggs painting is very appealing and well done. I love your painting.

    When I make deviled eggs, I boil the eggs for several minutes. Turn off the burner and move the pan to the kitchen sink. Turn on the cold water faucet and run the water over the eggs until the water and eggs are very cold. Then remove eggs from pan and tap them firmly against a solid form until the egg shell is covered with cracks. The shell should peel away from the delicate skin of the egg w/o removing any of its skin. This method works for me 98% of the time.

  2. Thanks for taking the time to explain your technique! I will surely try this with my next batch. Thanks for the kind words on my painting, too 😊

  3. Hi Carol – your deviled eggs watercolor is gorgeous! I just showed it to Zach and he thought it was a photograph – what a compliment! I thought you’d like to hear that…he loved it!

  4. These are done perfectly, I felt an instant craving for deviled eggs! Eggs are my favorite food!! I boil them for 8 minutes, instantly go from hot to cold water. let them cool further. Than I tap them all over so the shell is cracked and under a soft running tap with cold water the peel comes of just like that! Now I am going to right this and make deviled eggs ;o) xo Johanna

  5. Thanks, Charlie!! Hope you have recovered from any jet lag and got back to your usual schedule easily enough. It seems that with each trip we take, the harder it is to get back to normal – but thank goodness for trips!!

Leave a Reply

