Ibis, #WorldWatercolorMonth

A few years ago while visiting Sanibel Island in Florida, I saw my very first ibis.  I know that is not a tremendous milestone, but I was thrilled to observe this beautiful white bird up close and personal as he stood next to me on the beach.  Oh, such striking blue eyes they have!  The ibis uses his long, curved bill to search for insects, snails, or small fish in the surf, and they also like to eat larger things like crabs, crayfish, and snakes.  I was able to snap a reference photo as he stood with his neck crouched down, one foot in the air, and resting for a bit.

 

Ibis in watercolor

Ibis in watercolor

I admire artists who use unconventional colors to represent white objects and wanted to give that technique a try.  The shadows were easiest to represent with the purples and blues, and I gave him a little sun-kissed glow and reflections from the colors of the beach.  After studying many such paintings I am still not sure how well I pulled it off, but I kind of like this little rainbow ibis.  TGIF, and have a great weekend!

World Watercolor Month is half over! Remember, we are raising awareness for the Dreaming Zebra Foundation and the Art Room Aid project sponsored by Dick Blick with hopes of bringing art supplies and teaching to children who otherwise would not have exposure to the enriching world of art. Please consider a donation today!

World Watercolor Month 2016

16 thoughts on “Ibis, #WorldWatercolorMonth

  1. Thanks, Shissh! I was not very confident about putting this one on my blog because I figured I did it all wrong, but each time I came across this painting in my stack, it made me smile. Thanks for boosting my confidence! 🙂

Leave a Reply

