Sand Dollar, #WorldWatercolorMonth 2016

I can’t believe today is already July 1, which kicks off the very first ever World Watercolor Month.  This great event was spearheaded by Charlie O’Shields of Doodlewash, who went to the National Day Calendar folks and arranged to make this an official month-long event.  There are a couple of goals of this celebration – to simply share a love of watercolor with other folks, to encourage, and to be inspired by the works of others around the world.  We are also raising awareness for the Dreaming Zebra Foundation and the Art Room Aid project sponsored by Dick Blick with hopes of bringing art supplies and learning to children who otherwise would not have exposure to these enriching things. If you’d like to learn more about any of this, simply click on the links above.

world-watercolor-month-july-2016-primary-logo

World Watercolor Month 2016

Today I offer you a tiny sand dollar (or as I learned from fellow WordPress blogger and amazing artist, Sissh, it is called a pansy shell in her area of the world).  Even though there is not much to it, I struggled with this silly painting.  I was finally happy when I changed all the grays to purple, which makes me think I should call it a purple pansy shell more than a sand dollar at this point.

Sand Dollar aka Pansy Shell

Sand Dollar or Pansy Shell

In any event, happy inaugural World Watercolor Month!  I can’t wait to see what everyone creates!

14 thoughts on “Sand Dollar, #WorldWatercolorMonth 2016

  1. You did it so beautifully Carol! Well done 😀 I love how you changed to purple – isn’t it funny how the littlest change brings about such a big impact. (This means I’ll have to paint an animal now doesn’t it, lol)

  2. I suppose this month would be great for trying the things we fear. I’ll definitely give it a go. 🙂 Enjoy your long weekend!

Leave a Reply

