Italian Window

Over the past couple of weeks we were very fortunate to travel internationally for the first time. Although it was a little overwhelming to think about beforehand, once we landed in Italy I knew it was going to be a trip of a lifetime. Before we left I had seen dozens of photos of the tall, sometimes haphazardly placed apartment buildings separated by narrow, winding pedestrian walkways, and suddenly they were standing before me in all their glory. I was fascinated by the lovely windows and how some carried neatly manicured flower boxes with punches of colors, while others had the family’s laundry blowing in the breeze to dry. Through many of the open windows we could smell the family’s dinner simmering on the stove.

Because we were going to be gone for a couple of weeks, I packed the bare minimum of art supplies just in case I had time to be creative. Into the second week I found that I NEEDED the fulfillment of creating something artsy, so I opened up my basic set of Derwent Inktense pencils, sketch pad, and aquabrush. After reviewing some pictures I had taken on my phone, I began to crudely sketch this Italian window.

Italian Window

Italian Window

Even though I didn’t have all the art materials with me that I would have liked, it felt good to give this window some color and finish off with some India ink pen. I hope to paint this window again now that I am home and have ALL the colors, but I have so many other ideas in my head that I might have to try first.

One thought on “Italian Window

Leave a Reply

