MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!

Yes, it is true.  Operation Write Home’s mission is accomplished.  What a blessing this organization has been to help our service people, selflessly fighting for our freedoms so far away from home, keep in touch with their loved ones.  Closing the doors of OWH means that many of our deployed heroes have come home or hopefully will be home soon. The card makers finished strong and Sandy, the founder of OWH, has enough cards to send to her contacts through 2016.  I feel honored to have been part of OWH and hope my cards brought smiles to the faces of the recipients.

What to do with my cards?  After researching a variety of organizations, I have decided to donate cards to Send a Smile 4 Kids, which is an organization whose purpose is to create and collect donated handmade cards to be distributed to children while they are inpatients at Children’s Hospitals.  I plan to make cards for birthday, cheer, and encouragement for the staff members to give to the kids, as well as cards for kids to give to their parents for Mother’s Day and Father’s Day.

Because this is a time of transition with my card making, I thought it was a perfect time to update my blog and will be tweaking it in the next week or so.  I am excited to have a new focus for my cards and hope they elicit many smiles from kids.  Let me know what you think of my new design so far!

5 thoughts on “MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!

  1. Carol, so glad you found another outlet for your cards. I’m sure they will be loved and appreciated as much as all that you have done before. I look forward to seeing some of your new creations. Love, Mom

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

