Merry Christmas!

Yes, I know I have neglected this blog but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been extremely busy with my crafts. After taking the Watercolor Online Card Class for Card Makers, I found that I really enjoyed this medium. As mentioned previously, I always wanted to learn to draw freehand and how to use watercolors successfully without making a bunch of mud, which unfortunately is remarkably easy to make! I scoured various websites, YouTube videos, Pinterest, library books and magazines, etc., and I practiced many months and created projects that I now jokingly call abstracts. I finally found a real class to take where I could get some feedback and learn firsthand.

After 7 weeks of classes I finally have been able to make something I feel confident enough to share. The joke with my instructor was that the first week I used tons of paper towels, and each week I used fewer and fewer. The last class I used only 1 so maybe I got the hang of it a little. Here is my last class project. I know it is simple, but most of the paint is where it is supposed to be!

Watercolor Snowman - class project

Watercolor Snowman – class project

Also, because we are two days away from Christmas, I am sharing two Christmas cards I previously made.

The first one is a poinsettia image stamped on a piece of vellum and heat embossed in gold. I then took a second image, cut out the center portion, and pop mounted it on top of the base image to give it a little dimension. These cards were a lot of work but I enjoyed each step in the process and was happy with the elegant look.

2103 Christmas Card

2103 Christmas Card

Because the making of this year’s card coincide with my watercolor classes, of course I had to use a little watercolor technique on this card. I made a panel with a simple multicolored wash background and let it dry. I then stamped the snowflakes, heat embossed them with white powder, and mounted the panel to sparkly white paper. The sentiment and chain of gems were also heat embossed in white. I thought a little more sparkle was needed and because sequins were all the rage this year in the world of cardmaking, I opted to add just a few.

2014 Christmas card

2014 Christmas card

May you be surrounded by the love of family and friends this Christmas!

3 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

