Mares, Stallions, Fillies, and Colts

I made these cards back in 2010 and when I look at them now, I see a few things I would change. Overall, though, I am pretty happy with them. They are made with a set of Inkadinkado “horses” stamps, and the brown patterned papers are from an inexpensive set I bought at Michaels. I used VersaFine ink, one of my most favorites because it brings out minute details, in color vintage sepia.  I used a stippling brush around the horses because it reminded me of dirt that a horse might kick up when it gallops.

Galloping Horse

Galloping Horse

Handsome Horse

Handsome Horse

Pretty Mare

Pretty Mare

 On the card below I used a wood grain scrapbook paper and a denim paper as the background. I made the sewing holes with my Sew Easy stitch piercing tool and then hand stitched the stitches with a heavy thread. I thought the silver brads reminded me of rivets used on denim and I like the look of them on the card. If you know me, you know that sewing is definitely not my forte and I probably could have done a better job, but then again have you looked at the stitching on some store-bought denim jeans? Maybe I didn’t do so badly after all. 🙂 I really like this card a lot and hope to improve on it when I make the next batch.

Horse Portrait

Horse Portrait

3 thoughts on “Mares, Stallions, Fillies, and Colts

  1. Carol – I was going to bring pictures to make into cards this Saturday but bring me a few of your “sewing cards” and I will hand stitch for you!!!  Looking forward to seeing everyone tomorrow night.  Kim

Leave a Reply

