First Communion

This time of year many young Catholic children are preparing for their First Holy Communion.  I remember mine pretty well and loved the beautiful white dress and veil, as well as the white anklets and shiny white patent leather shoes that I wore in honor of receiving the Body of Christ for the first time.  Oh, and my mom made pin curls in my hair so I would feel extra special for the occasion.  Sleeping with a headful of bobby pins was not very comfortable but oh so worth it to have those bouncy curls the next day.  I remember the blue rosary and its little blue leather pouch that I received as a gift, as well as The Children’s Bible that my grandparents traditionally gave to their grandchildren for this milestone.  Okay, enough reminiscing! 

first communion card wm

First Communion Card

Here is a First Communion card I made for my parents to present to their great-nephew in a few weeks.  It was made mostly with the Cricut George cartridge with the cup of the chalice being a large circle, the foot being an oval, and the stem being a long rectangle with rounded corners.  These were cut from a silver/gray-colored paper.  I embossed the cup with the Cuttlebug Divine Swirls embossing folder (I thought the name was appropriate!), and I affixed a cross made on the Easter cartridge.  The Eucharist Host is a circle about 1/2-inch smaller than the cup.  The grapes are 1-inch and 1-1/4-inch circles cut on the George cartridge, and the leaves are from the Create A Critter cartridge (p. 70 Turkey/Pumpkin accessory).  A simple brown strip of paper cut on an angle is the stem.   Finally, the background was made with the Darice Plaid Pattern embossing folder.  This card could easily be made with punches/circle cutter too.

Congratulations to all the little second graders making their First Holy Communion this spring.  May they be as happy as the ones shown in these pictures!

First Communion Day

First Communion Day

jer first communion wm

First Communion Day

4 thoughts on “First Communion

  1. This is a great design! I’ll be pinning it for when all of my relatives start making their first communions. The first girl in my family’s next generation just made her first communion at the beginning of the month and this would have been great. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

