3 Cards, 1 Weekend

As I promised in my last post, here are the cards I worked on during our weekend at the Crop-A-Doodle-Do. 

 First is a masculine card using my new Stampin Up set “Clockworks.”  It is an A2-sized card with a dark green panel dry embossed with a Tim Holtz gear embossing folder.  The middle panel with the stamped images is 2-3/4 x 3-3/4, and it is outlined with brown cut to the size of 3 x 4-3/4 then edge punched with a Martha Stewart paper edger.  I used a bit of baker’s twine to tie at the bottom of the panel.  I stamped the “splotches” with Memento Desert Sand ink, and the dark green is Versafine Olympia Green.  I love Versafine ink pads especially when stamping detailed images.  I love using a general celebratory phrase like “Let’s Celebrate” because then the card can be used for any happy occasion.

Stampin Up Clockworks

Stampin Up Clockworks

Then I decided to break out the Cricut and use my Create A Critter cartridge, one of my favorites, as well as Elegant Edges which I find to be the most versatile Cricut cartridge I own.  I actually received the sentiment stamp as a freebie from Unity Stamps when I placed an order with them.  I used the Elegant Edges and cut an image that looked cloud-like (Eyelet3-s, oblong and shadow).  I cut a 3-inch moon and simply added a square of black behind the facial features rather than cutting out an entire black background shape.  I cut out 1-¼-inch and 1-½-inch stars from yellow gingham paper as accents, and they look perfect on the background paper that was dry embossed with the Stampin Up Cloudy Day embossing folder.  I cut one 2-½-inch cloud from the gingham blue and playfully tried to use it as a pillow for the moon, while the sentiment is his blanket.  What a sweet, gentle card for one of our OWH recipients to send home to a child.

Love You to the Moon and Back

Love You to the Moon and Back

Lastly I cut out thirty 3-inch kitties (Cat2) and shadows from Create A Critter.  I tried to use color combinations that would make the cat look neither masculine nor feminine, and I love the pattern play of the small Swiss dots on the 2-inch pillow bed in contrast with the larger dots on the background paper.  The separation with the bright yellow strip makes it all work.  Again, I selected a “punny” sentiment that would be applicable for any occasion or just to send home to say hi.  

Purr-fectly Wonderful

Purr-fectly Wonderful

I made approximately 30 of each of the above 3 cards, so I had to finish up the cat cards after I returned home from the CADD.  Currently I am working on 30 cute skunk cards (a prototype of which I gave to my mother-in-low who seems to enjoy puns as much as I do) and a special-request First Communion Card for my Mom to give.  I have made First Communion cards in the past and am researching something new and improved on Pinterest and other favorite websites. 

Thank goodness I have my creative outlets to go to when the world seems turned upside down.  Please send good thoughts and prayers to all those affected by the events in Boston today.

Leave a Reply

