Musical, #WorldWatercolorGroup

I took today’s prompt literally and painted the cover of one of our favorite musicals, Wicked.  We’ve seen this Broadway Spectacular a couple of times and have almost worn out the soundtrack over the years.

Wicked

Wicked

If you are unfamiliar, Wicked tells the tale of the early years of Elphaba (the Wicked Witch of the West) and Glinda (the Good Witch).  They become friends despite having opposite views of life and rivaling over the same love-interest.  We learn about the Wizard of Oz’s corrupt government and, ultimately, Elphaba’s public fall from grace.  It explains why Elphaba is green, why the Scarecrow, Tinman, and Lion are part human, why Elphaba became wicked, and so much more.  Enthralling!

17 thoughts on “Musical, #WorldWatercolorGroup

  1. Thanks, Jill! My daughter read the book before it became a musical, and it puts quite a spin on the story. If you like to read, you should borrow it from the library! Hope you are having a terrific weekend, my friend!

  2. Thanks, Caroline. I love the look of negative space painting and really should do it more often. I get so hung up on the colors and forget the beauty the white can add! I appreciate your kind words 🙂

  3. Wicked is Spectacular. I saw it on Broadway and seeing it four times. Wicked sparked my love for musicals and is how I began to understand the complexity and emotional side of musicals

  4. Thanks for commenting! I’ve seen Wicked twice and both shows were excellent. We play the soundtrack often – definitely a lot of emotions in this show! 🎭

  5. Each time I see Wicked, the vulnerability level increases. It just keeps on getting more and more complex over the years even though it is the same show

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.